Early season excitement!

Bigfeet

Lil-Rokslider
Bowhunting season finally got here on September 1st. Elk was the first thing on the agenda, so my hunting partner, Keith, and I went to an area I’ve been hunting for a few years. Last year I managed to take a bull in the area, and the pack out was pretty tough because of the distance and the terrain. But with 3 of us there, we managed to get him out in one load. I have packed a number elk out before, but that particular pack was one of the toughest. That experience prompted me, and Keith, to get new packs that could better handle the load of packing out elk quarters. As it turns out, it’s a good thing we did.

The first day we hiked into the area, crested a ridge and heard our first bugle of the year. We hunted through the area, bumped a couple of elk (unfortunately), but overall the bulls weren’t bugling much. It was a little warm and it is a little early in the rut for them to be too active. Through the course of the day we heard a few different bulls, and had two different bulls at 30 and 45 yards, but no shot opportunities. What a great start to the season. The 1st of September and we had a number of bulls calling, plus a couple in close. No shots, but absolutely a terrific day.