Eastern Washington Elk Scouting

Howdy, folks.

As an eastern WA resident, I've been concentrating on Idaho elk the past couple years. However, I wasn't able to get a tag for this coming season and will be concentrating on my own back yard (Northeastern WA). I'm hoping y'all can help me focus my scouting efforts. Out of units like 111, 113, 117, 121, and 124: aside from elk sign itself, what kinds of habitat are you looking for when you're scouting for elk? Certain types of drainage's? Higher or lower elevation? North or south facing ridges? Certain food sources? Heavy timber or clear cuts? Is there a certain terrain that might indicate bedding area? Not that I'm seeking answers to these questions specifically, but these are examples of questions I have.

Unfortunately, my body isn't able to handle the mileage it once used to, so I'm trying to maximize the mileage I do have when I'm able to be in the woods. My general strategy is to find areas of interest on OnX and then put boots on the ground. Anything that can help me focus my attention, whether with OnX or in the woods, is greatly appreciated.

Strength and honor,
Jake

KP87

FNG
Best of luck to you! I am headed out for my first time this week to scout and stick out a few cameras and I'll be back out mid month. I can't answer your specifics but I have found some YouTube videos with helpful information for e-scouting.

Gritty has a art of finding elk playlist with the owner of tree line pursuits. He does a "academy" for e-scouting course. I haven't taken the course but the podcast has been really helpful trying to read the territory and determine good spots.

Cam107

Lil-Rokslider