elk decoys

midwestkilla

Lil-Rokslider
I’m planning to take an archery elk trip this spring and was looking for information and opinions on decoys? anything helps, thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I've used Montana Decoys twice. Both times were during the rut. Both times we called in the elk and had 3-5 bulls coming up the hill toward us.

One of the two times I had 5 small bulls coming up the hill toward me, then a big old boar grizzly came through the basin...turns out elk love the decoys and hate the bears...elk were gone in seconds. But the decoys work great.

OP
midwestkilla

midwestkilla

Lil-Rokslider
do you think a homemade decoy would be possible or successful? i’m a college student looking to save money but i don’t want to lower my success because of this? Thanks for the opinion guys!

I’m going to vote against the homemade option unless you have a plotter and can possibly laminate. Even in that case I’m voting against it because it’ll be shiny.

I think a cow silhouette is maybe $120?! I know that’s a lot for a starving college kid. It may just be one weekend not going out to the bars though!

OP
midwestkilla

midwestkilla

Lil-Rokslider
I’m going to vote against the homemade option unless you have a plotter and can possibly laminate. Even in that case I’m voting against it because it’ll be shiny.

I think a cow silhouette is maybe $120?! I know that’s a lot for a starving college kid. It may just be one weekend not going out to the bars though!

Thanks for the input, i think i’ll look into montana decoys!

Gila

WKR
do you think a homemade decoy would be possible or successful? i’m a college student looking to save money but i don’t want to lower my success because of this? Thanks for the opinion guys!