Elk Hunting - Blowdowns

jmh00043

FNG
Newbie here,
Will elk bed down in pretty thick conifer blowdowns? There are still a good many trees standing and a lot on the ground.

Second question,
How long would you look into/hunt a specific drainage?

Hnthrdr

WKR
1. Elk will bed down in deadfall, in some thick nasty stuff, it sucks to move through, sucks even more to pack stuff out of.

2. Depends, what season are you hunting? What kind of sign are you seeing?

OP
jmh00043

jmh00043

FNG
1. Elk will bed down in deadfall, in some thick nasty stuff, it sucks to move through, sucks even more to pack stuff out of.

2. Depends, what season are you hunting? What kind of sign are you seeing?
mid october...

Hnthrdr

WKR
Depends if the elk are still rutting or post rut… if they are still rutting a bit they will be easier to locate if we are assuming you are hunting bulls. If it is post rut those bulls will hole up in nasty drainages and only come out to feed or water. Depending on the country glassing should be your best bet, otherwise play thermals and learn how to still hunt quick

Rizzy

WKR
I find them in deadfall a lot. They usually bed in the shade. I spend a morning and an evening glassing a drainage in October. If it’s an OTC unit the hunting pressure in October will effect the older bulls pretty quickly after opening day.

Marble

WKR
So far as hunting a drainage, it depends on:

Size
Ability to glass
What I see when I do look
Weather
What I see in other drainages
Past experience in said location

Totality of circumstances dictates my next move.

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk

OP
jmh00043

jmh00043

FNG
I find them in deadfall a lot. They usually bed in the shade. I spend a morning and an evening glassing a drainage in October. If it’s an OTC unit the hunting pressure in October will effect the older bulls pretty quickly after opening day.