Field/Pocket Guide for boning out game in the field

AZmark

WKR
Does anyone know of a good pocket guide that covers boning out game in the field. Field dressing is cake for me but boning out has so many ins and outs and seems everyone has their own way.

Welcome. Plenty of YouTube’s on this but they aren’t that helpful in the field. If you can’t find someone to show you how then don’t be afraid of trying it yourself. I am a self taught, adult onset hunter. After 2-3 animals I think I had it down fairly well and it isn’t like I ruined those first few, it is just that I got better and faster and the final product was nicer.

You May also look into a butchering class - my friend took one where he got to butcher a pig and take half of it home. If you count the price of the meat, he basically got the class for free. Another, guy I know, “volunteered” with a local deer processor for an afternoon and the butcher showed him how it was done. He processed 5-6 deer in one day and learned what he wanted to know. Also, nothing wrong with buying a bone in roast and experimenting at home.

To your question, Not pocket but I am a fan do the Steve rinella book. I guess you could probably photo copy or take pictures of the pages for reference in the field.

There are also plenty of how tos if you wanted to print one off.

Final thought. I love replaceable blade knifes for skinning and they do great for breaking down animals to quarters. However, a six inch victorinox boning knife is hands down my favorite for butchering. I splurged on a bunch of butchering gear two seasons ago and find I use those 6 inch boning knives for almost all my butchering. If I was doing it again I would have bought 2-3 of those and called it good.

Last edited:
Study up on the YouTube videos. The toughest part for me is the first few cuts. Once you have things opened up, it's fairly easy to figure out on the fly.