First Time GSP Owner Looking for Advice

RMM

WKR
Like the title states, we are planning on picking up our first dog at the end of February, a male GSP puppy. Growing up we had a Brittany and she was a great dog. I've hunted with GSP's before and have always loved them. Looking for advice on training videos you guys have used and done well with as well as general do's and dont's. I'll mainly be hunting pheasants and grouse with him.

Last edited:
OP
R

RMM

WKR
Standing stone kennels that has a YouTube channel a lot of gsp have said is good
Appreciate that, I actually came across them on searches and have seen a few videos of theirs.

I'm by no means an expert. I have a 3 year old GSP which is my first hunting dog. She's a full time family member and we're more the weekend warrior vibe when it comes to chasing birds. I'll tell you right now, hold onto your hat, that dog is going to have more Go than it, or maybe even you at times, know what to do with. Great with the family, from the start been a natural and always willing to work and learn, only issue we ever really ran into is her just getting too amped up and flushing the whole damn field. I've had and grown up with everything from labs to Aussies to Schnauzer show dogs and I gotta say I don't see myself ever not having a GSP in the family. You're gonna have a blast with that dog!

A well breed dogs is going to have more natural ability than you’ll realize and know what to do with.
Basic training and bird contacts is all I worry about the first year. After that you can really start “bird” training. But each dog will be different. My older French Brittany was learning hand commands at 7 months and will hold all day long basically from a puppy. My little female she was 2 before so got out of the puppy stages to really start working with her.

Squincher

WKR
There won't be huge differences from your Brittany. GSP's seem to mentally mature a bit faster.

Oh, and they bark. A lot.

Reactions: RMM
OP
R

RMM

WKR