Gear for southwest Idaho?

Joey D

FNG
I’m fairly new to Idaho and hunting in general. Will be trying my luck at mule deer with my rifle. Any recommendations on gear and or layering?
So far I have:
Badlands 2200 pack
North Face furnace 20 degree bag (will probably add a liner)
North face storm break 2 tent
REI air rail 1.5 sleeping pad
Cheap redhead boots (will be replacing)
Sitka ascent pants
Sitka ascent l/s shirt
Columbia rain jacket
Columbia fleece
Kings xkg transition jacket
Costco wool blend socks
Msr pocket rocket stove & cook pot
Sawyer squeeze filtration system
Kill kit
Vortex binos w/tripod
Rangefinder
First aid kit
Other misc odds n ends.

Thank you!

realunlucky

Super Moderator
Staff member
My advise-- go hunting with what you have and stay responsibly close to the truck. That way if any one piece has a catastrophic failure your only only out the long hike back to your truck. You'll get a feeling of what's working for you and what needs replacing. It'll save you money and narrow your search window.

Sent from my SM-G996U using Tapatalk

I’m fairly new to Idaho and hunting in general. Will be trying my luck at mule deer with my rifle. Any recommendations on gear and or layering?
So far I have:
Badlands 2200 pack
North Face furnace 20 degree bag (will probably add a liner)
North face storm break 2 tent
REI air rail 1.5 sleeping pad
Cheap redhead boots (will be replacing)
Sitka ascent pants
Sitka ascent l/s shirt
Columbia rain jacket
Columbia fleece
Kings xkg transition jacket
Costco wool blend socks
Msr pocket rocket stove & cook pot
Sawyer squeeze filtration system
Kill kit
Vortex binos w/tripod
Rangefinder
First aid kit
Other misc odds n ends.

Thank you!
Quality boots will be worth the $$$

idahodave

WKR
If you wanna kill deer/elk in Idaho with any regularity, buy the best boots and binoculars you can afford. Go where others can’t/won’t go. Everything else matters waaay less imho.

dave

OP
Joey D

Joey D

FNG