Getting my kids started in Archery

Timnterra

Lil-Rokslider
I took my 9yr old to shoot last night and she had a lot of fun. I signed her up for the upcoming 4-H archery shooting season and I need to help her get started. Im pretty much a novice myself in archery and I don’t know anything about coaching a kid. I also need to get her a release and I don’t know what to look for there. I was going to let her use mine but maybe she needs a youth size release? Anybody been through teaching their kids to shoot that could lend a hand and maybe an out grown release they wold sell?
Thanks
Tim

ZDR

WKR
Hey Tim,
I'm an archery coach at a local school and I'd recommend passing on the release and teaching her to shoot with fingers first and then transition to a release later. Unless the bow she is using just doesnt work for finger shooting, a release is another complication the kids have to learn. We use the Genesis bows at school and some of my students can shoot lights out up to ~30 yards or so with no sight etc. Some of the kids also have PSE mini-burners or similar bows, some shoot them with fingers, some with a release but the release is not a defining factor. Anyway, not what you asked, but just an opinion formed after doing the coaching gig for a while.
z

• Banned
OP
Timnterra

Timnterra

Lil-Rokslider
Hey Tim,
I'm an archery coach at a local school and I'd recommend passing on the release and teaching her to shoot with fingers first and then transition to a release later. Unless the bow she is using just doesnt work for finger shooting, a release is another complication the kids have to learn. We use the Genesis bows at school and some of my students can shoot lights out up to ~30 yards or so with no sight etc. Some of the kids also have PSE mini-burners or similar bows, some shoot them with fingers, some with a release but the release is not a defining factor. Anyway, not what you asked, but just an opinion formed after doing the coaching gig for a while.
z
Thanks Z