New Archery Tips

Cwlauger

FNG
I am not totally new to archery, hunting, or shooting. I have some experience and hunted as a younger man..

I am new to the intricacies of archery. I love learning by doing and there aren’t a lot of archery pro shops where I live.

I want to learn how to do everything I need to on a bow. I don’t currently have a bow press though.

What knowledge and processes would you tell a new archer to learn to be able to get a bow shooting its best? Any links to article and videos would be appreciated. I know I can search for stuff, but I am not sure what to target as a beginner in bow maintenance, upkeep and tuning.

Thanks in advance!

watch dudleys stuff on youtube, especially school of nock series. stay the heck off of archery talk. take literally thousands of shots this year. if your arrow flight is good enough to group field points at ~40 yards, hold off on all further tuning until you're several thousand shots into practice.

The Bow Shop Bible app is the best single resource IMO. It's kinda pricey but worth it if you're serious about wanting to do your own bow work.

John Dudley's "School of Nock" videos and Gold Tip's "Super Tuning Your Bow" series are good free resources on YouTube. Below are some handy tuning cheat sheets that I find myself referring to frequently. FYI not everything listed on those sheets will be applicable to your particular bow; the end goal of tuning is the same, but different bow makes/models use different mechanisms to get there.

I would echo the advice to avoid Archery Talk. IME you find just as much bad advice as good advice there, and the bad is often stated more emphatically. The quality of archery discussion is much better here on Rokslide. @Billy Goat is a treasure trove of high quality archery info (and mediocre quality memes;)).

Mathews Tuning Chart.jpg
Screenshot_20210219-073524.png
Screenshot_20210219-073736.png

Last edited:
OP
Cwlauger

Cwlauger

FNG