Harvest Right freeze driers? Worthy purchase?

Other than a handful of YT videos, are there any 'Sliders with experience freeze drying food? These units are stupid expensive, but it's something my wife and I have been contemplating for many years. And we are about ready to make that investment and gamble on Society....lol

I am concerned that I've heard Meats are one of the WORST foods to FD. My personal mindset for wanting the machine is long term storage of Meat and Fruit. The fruit is a non brainer. But my real desire if to store meat in freeze dried form, not in an actual freezer, which is obviously dependent on both the Freezer and running electricity. And the freezer life of 1-2 years. To really put up food and prep for a No Shitter, I would like to store meat.

In calling on a few used models, one from a guy who owns 4 units, informed me that the Premium pump which runs on oil, is the best bang for the buck, as the really stupid spendy oil-less pump is not as smurfy as it's billed.

Any real world user input would be great in assisting me into making this rather large investment.

Seems like with such dinky trays of a Medium and the 24 hour run cycle it would take a shit ton of both time and power to put up real amounts of food. Thoughts?

BBob

WKR
In calling on a few used models, one from a guy who owns 4 units, informed me that the Premium pump which runs on oil, is the best bang for the buck, as the really stupid spendy oil-less pump is not as smurfy as it's billed.