Hawaii Hunting

Been posting in the DIY Lanai Axis Deer thread over Archery, but figured I'd start my own thread since I'm actually not hunting archery (yet), I'm not doing DIY Lanai Axis (right now), and I'm gearing up for more than just Axis out here (pigs, goats, spearfishing).

New hunter this last season, hunted whitetail in PA. Long-time tactical shooter. Based out of Oahu.

I was too late in the game this year for the Lanai state hunt draw, but thankfully I'm a HI resident now, which brings the Pineapple Bros (the official guide on Lanai) into reasonable price territory. I was personally on the fence about using a guide, just in general, I've always felt like it takes away a little of the sporting aspect of the hunt, the research, the prep work, the beating the bushes in the months leading up to opening day, and all that stuff. But the logistics of hunting Lanai are really difficult, so I figured I would go guided this first time to get the lay of the land, get my eyes on the island myself, and learn tips and tricks for DIY later. So 21 Sep I'll be rifle hunting the private area on Lanai that only Pineapple Bros has access to, but while there I am going to try to scope out the other two "private" hunting areas that you can get permits to through the island of Lanai recreation folks.

Still moving my family into our new house here, so I haven't been able to get out to the mountains here yet to look for pigs and goats, but I'm pretty confident in the prospect for success on goats. Pigs will be harder to find, and best lead I have is on an archery only GMU, so I plan to pick up a bow in the next couple months for that and just for archery hunting in general.

Have only gone out with a three-prong so far to try to get on some local fish, but my spear gun and all my gear arrived last week so hopefully I'll be able to get out on some upcoming weekends to find the fish. I figure fishing exploits here are fair game for this forum too, so I'll try to post up on that.