Help me convince myself choosing the "better" option

Bugaboo

FNG
Hey Folks!

I'm a new Hunter in the Market for his first Rifle, been reading and watching reviews for a while now. Caliberwise I'm pretty sure I'm going with a .308, since I'm in BC and can shoot pretty much anything except for brown bears.

But I have trouble deciding on a Rifle.. I don't have a set Budget, but since I'm still new to the Sport and everything I would like to keep it on the "cheaper" side...

That said, the Options I narrowed it down to are the Tikka T3x Lite (1100 CAD) or the Ruger American (599 CAD)

Clearly the Tikka is the Winner of the two, but I have a hard time justifying to myself to pay double the Money for the Rifle.

Until I hopefully get a good/better Shot down the Road, the difference in accuracy between the tikka and the ruger are probably not noticable to a beginner like me. the guns shoot sub 1-2 moa, I probably won't.

Somewhere torn between buy once, cry once and that the cheaper of the both is probably more accurate than I'll ever be and I won't notice a difference anyways...

What are your guys thoughts on it? Is it really worth for a beginning to drop the extra bucks on it? TIA!

cjcavinaw

FNG
I would say without a doubt the tikka is the way to go. I started with a savage axis and not even a year later ended up buying the tikka. Buy once cry once is the truth and we'll worth it in this case, the tikka is a rifle that will last a lifetime and though the ruger will get the job done, the same can't necessarily be said.

One thing to keep in mind especially as a new shooter is when you have a solid rifle set up (circle of components) it takes all the doubt and worry out of the system when something isn't going the way you think it should. It tells you that you have something to work on and you're no longer guessing if there is something wrong with the rifle.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Ice-kub

Lil-Rokslider