Help planning first CO otc archery elk hunt

Rawmeat

FNG
Hi everyone.
My hunting partner and I have been hunting Whitetail and Mule deer in North Dakota for 17 years. We are not obsessed with big deer, we just like to hunt. We have decided we would like to start spending time in the fall hunting elk. We realize we need experience, but you can only learn so much reading, and we want to jump in fall 2018.

My brain is hurting a bit after figuring out all the drawing systems in multiple states, but we have a game plan figured out. We are going to apply for the general tag in Wyoming. Assuming we won't get it the first year, we want to hunt the archery otc in CO. My parents recently moved to the Northwestern area of CO so I figured this will give me a couple of opportunities to scout when I visit them.

My biggest question is probably the same as all first time CO elk hunters. Where in the large state full of elk should I go? I am not looking for specifics, but more general advice that will help us experience the type of hunt we are looking to have.

Our biggest priority is the hunting experience. We care nothing about trophy bulls. We would be happy to take a cow, and over the moon to have a chance at a legal bull. That being said, to get experience it would be nice to be in the elk and not just stumbling around looking for them. I understand luck and weather play a large part here, but that is the kind of advice I am looking for.

We would hunt the 2nd week of Sept. for 12-14 days. We WANT to work hard it. We plan on back packing in a half day or so and hunting from a base camp. I am also thinking I might bring my travel trailer down, if I can find a place to park it, in the case that
if it rains like crazy, so we can continue to hunt more comfortably. Yes, we will have chains.