How did people ever camp in cold weather without a sleeping pad?

I've lived outside off and on for somewhere around 9 months of my life. I used a cot some of the time. I made a wood floor out of planks in a cave. I slept on warm sand in summer. Then many years went by. I got wiser. And when I started camping again I bought a nice insulated pad. I never had to camp in freezing temperatures, so I'm wondering how it was done?

QUESTION: How did folks survive sleeping in sub-zero temperatures on the ground while in the backcountry before there were sleeping pads? Did they lay down a wool blanket or something? Seems like whatever it took, it must have added a lot of weight and bulk to a pack. I was thinking tree boughs would work, but above the treeline what would you use; moss? Just curious, and thinking it could save me if I'm out in the cold and my pad fails.

Gold-Mining-on-the-Mokelumne_HC.jpg

Last edited:
I'm no pro... but snow is a decent insulator. The few times I've rough camped in the winter, I built up a platform of snow and then covered with boughs. In those temps, moss usually buried/frozen so I haven't had the opportunity to use that.

I've done a fair amount of camping in sustained freezing weather and I usually bring a cheap foam bad to slide under the air pad. This makes a significant difference AND gives me a backup pad that can't fail.

Missahba

Lil-Rokslider
Pine boughs over snow.

*edit to clarify and share a story. I’m old enough that I learned the pine bough method. However I never camped anywhere it was feasible.

My Boy Scout den leader was supposed to mentor me. He did, by showing me his pads, foam, and thick sleeping bag and sweats to sleep in. Problem is he did it in the tent as we were setting up at the campsite in Michigan in Febr. In a tent he pitched on Eastern hardpack, aka ice.