How many years for your first archery elk kill?

How many years for your first archery elk kill?

Votes: 16 33.3%

Votes: 9 18.8%

Votes: 7 14.6%

Votes: 2 4.2%

Votes: 5 10.4%

Votes: 3 6.3%

• 8+

• Total voters
I'm pretty new to archery and just finished my second year chasing elk in the mountains of MT. Seems like every time I go out I learn something new and had so many more encounters this year, just nothing I could shoot. I've read a few places that on average, it takes archers 7 years to get their first elk. Based on how much more I was into elk this season, I have a feeling next year I'll get one down. So for for all of you archery elk hunters, how long did it take you to arrow your first elk?

Manosteel

WKR
I arrowed my first elk with a bow the first year I went after them with a bow(in my early 20's). However, I had harvested several elk with a rifle before that, and all of those were under 200 yards, most under 100. I learned how to hunt elk in the thick stuff from my dad & uncle who used 30-30's back in the day, so getting close was what they taught.

weaver

WKR
2nd season, but there were 2 years in between were I killed a couple elk with the rifle and called for my buddy one season so I was able to gain a lot of valuable experience.

Tony Trietch

Part Time Bow Hiker
Staff member
Don't let some else's results get to you either way. Just enjoy your time afield and learn like sponge from anyone that knows what they're doing. My first year I killed two bulls in two states but it could have went the other way very easily.
Never stop learning and you'll be were you want to be fast.

Brendan

WKR
First season, last hour of my last day on my 12th consecutive day hunting. 15 years whitetail hunting before that.

Colberjs

WKR
I gun hunted my first time out west in 2010. I archery hunted my second time out west in 2014.