How to figure out what tags to put in for - Long off hunt

skywalkr

Lil-Rokslider
I’m an adult onset hunter and completely self taught but luckily have access to land here in TX to hunt on that has plenty of free roaming game (not high fence). As I have continued to hunt, this being my fourth season, the idea of going out west sounds more and more appealing. However, the whole process of picking out units, states, etc for where to put in for tags seems overwhelming.

I’m not looking to get out west to hunt for probably at least five years and I don’t mind going for quality units that will take longer than that to draw for. I feel like I need to figure this out sooner rather than later though so I can start accumulating points where it matters. Is there a good resource for figuring this whole thing out?

cmahoney

WKR
Gohunt compiles a lot of the data in one place if you want to pay for a year. You can use it to narrow down some areas then go to those state specific websites to gather more info.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

cmahoney

WKR
Gohunt compiles a lot of the data in one place if you want to pay for a year. You can use it to narrow down some areas then go to those state specific websites to gather more info.

cmahoney

WKR

In my opinion, the best resource or “overall view” of the different states and how the draw systems work is Epic Outdoors Magazine. I feel like they do an excellent job of recommending which states are worth it, which ones are not, etc. they also cover preference points vs bonus points...... random draw states, which ones you need to buy hunting license, cost breakdown etc.

I like how the magazines break out in monthly issues just before state draws but with plenty of time to research.

Furthermore if you have questions or want to know more you can call/contact them anytime and they are of the most knowledgeable guys around.

Well worth the 100.00 a year.

rob86jeep

WKR