Hunting in grizzly country

tommymo

Lil-Rokslider
So I know this has been covered and I was able to find some good information and tips on staying safe and dealing with what might become the inevitable, but I still have some questions that I hope you guys/gals can clear up for me. I am new to back country elk hunting and the chances of me going into a grizzly area in the next couple of years is slim, but nonetheless its interesting to me and plan on a future Wyoming/Montana hunt.

1. Have an extra set of cloths for when your cooking and don't wear them to sleep or in camp?

Are guys caring an extra set of cloths to cook in? I plan on doing a bivy hunt and all of my cooking will be boiling water and rehydrating food. Will a mountain house create that much scent that I should worry about it infusing my cloths?

Also when your away from your camp hunting are you guys carrying food with you for the day? I live in NJ and we have a shit ton of BIG bears, I spend a lot of time in the woods with food on me while hiking or hunting and have run into many bears, never worried about it whats so ever. But just this past year a Rutgers student was mauled to death and some reports indicate that he had food on him which might of lured in the bear. Needless to say I have not experienced any such curiosity while a field and am not too worried about black bears, but grizzlies make me nervous.

2. After the Kill.