Idaho unit 43

Mdhunter

FNG
Anybody have any info on this unit. I'm in the process of planning a muley trip to idaho most likely to this unit and was wondering if anyone had any in of on this unit. Not specifics or honey holes just expectation, terrain, population and so on. Just trying to get an idea. I live in california and this will be my first muley hunt. I've done all the internet scouting I can and was just looking for some first hand info if anybody has any..

I'm new to the forum and so far I have learned a lot from you guys and gals. I'm new to hunting for Muleys NAND elk but not new to deer hunting. I'm 23 and have been hunting my whole life and not afraid to work for an animal. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Get a dirt bike and use the HUGE trail system to your advantage.

OR

Completely avoid the areas with trails and hunt on foot.

http://www.trails.idaho.gov/trails/

Fun area, beautiful, just seems to be quite a few hunters. If you have any specific questions I may be able to help you out.

Have you hunted here before? What should I expect to see as far as deer. Opportunity? Am I shooting my self in the foot by choosing this area

I have hunted it before, quite a bit actually, for elk and deer along with shed hunting, camping, hiking, dirt biking, archery shoots, cat hunting, bear hunting firewood splitting, fishing, rafting, etc :)

I know folks who kill great deer in it nearly every year during the rifle season. I also know folks who say there are no deer, then again they only road hunt and stick to the ATV trails. I know of other folks who hunt it very hard and can't pull it together on an animal for whatever reason.

It's a fun unit, steep and a dirt bike is litterally the best way to get around and get away from everyone else.