Liner to boost warmth?

Anyone ever use a liner like this to boost warmth? I have a 15 degree bag and rarely find myself needing much more, but a late season tag has me thinking I'd like more warmth. I don't really want to spring for an all new bag and was wondering if this would get me through.

I have one and use it often. It is light and does make a huge difference.

Cheap insurance, I think

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk

Lowg08

WKR
I am buying one on the advice of my dad he is an avid back packer and he carries 2 of them.

I've got just a cheap fleece liner and it's well worth it...the next one on the list is the one you have listed.

robby denning

Administrator
Staff member
I have one and I’ve used it on occasion. It’s hard to put a number to it, but it does add some warmth to your bag.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Banned
OP
zion zig zag
I have a Marmot Helium bag that's rated to 15 degrees, I have slept in relative comfort down to the upper teens in it. If I could get that comfort zone down to 5-10 degrees I think that would work.

The liners weigh almost nothing and can make the difference between shivering all night or sleeping when conditions take a dive. But if looking to make a 15 degree bag into a zero bag, purchasing another bag is the only way to go.

Last edited:

sneaky

"DADDY"
Get a lightweight quilt to throw over the bag. A 40deg quilt would add warmth to your system, and could pull double duty as a wrap for glassing, and not weigh much more than a liner. I don't care for liners because they are a specialized piece of gear. I like gear that serves multiple purposes.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Liners also keep your bag from getting filthy and if you sweat in your bag or get the clammy feeling like I do, it will help eliminate that