Longbow Creek Reunion

! haven't done a moose hunt story here for a few years...mainly due to a lack of inspiration. I can't write anything worth reading unless I'm really in the mood to do so. My creative bone is less active these days, and I can't see myself dredging up a story 'just because'. In any event, I was recently in Alaska to hunt moose primarily, but with the option to kill a caribou or black bear. I didn't hunt Alaska in 2020 due to a number of reasons, only one of which was the pandemic. So if you're interested (or maybe just bored) follow along and I'll try to keep you entertained for a bit. This will deliberately be a longer read as I'm not good at writing quick accounts. For that matter, I'm not a writer or author so please forgive any errors found. But first, a few images from past seasons in Alaska:

Bulls we've encountered but not managed to kill:

1WJLxm5l.jpg

7hylHeul.jpg

Tk0AiQ9l.jpg

iuHwZjxl.jpg

KyxSJW7l.jpg

KoLnPqpl.jpg

And a few of the ones we've gotten lucky on:

2Y2qAn6l.jpg

yTuWna1l.jpg

BIY11sdl.jpg

Tkl52qKl.jpg

There are many others, but you get the idea. Alaska has great moose hunting. Even the little bulls are big at 5 yards:

H5Qi7KJl.jpg

Bruiser at 1,000 yards:

JpcWi8Ql.jpg

And then there's the scenery....

OP
Kevin Dill
tEk4Opzl.jpg

HP8XIVvl.jpg

Jir6z3Gl.jpg

xVKlthpl.jpg

NPwrMOQl.jpg

Pxuq1Kul.jpg

l8vC5aHl.jpg

Flying by Super Cub gets us into places nobody else goes, and allows us to hunt moose which hardly ever see a human being. All of our moose hunting is done with bows exclusively. Any guns in camp are primarily for bear defense.

FjpDSAml.jpg

HW7JGCOl.jpg

UXNgSPFl.jpg

OP
Kevin Dill