Making Fire with Flint

I felt like I was missing out on being able to start fires with a ferro rod. So I started playing around with magnesium fire starters and flint. It wasn't as hard as I thought it would be; as long as I prepared ahead of time. I used the tracker knife I built over the winter, here's a short video of the process.
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="
" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

IMG_5054.jpgIMG_5055.jpg
Do you guys ever use flint and steel or friction?

Davebuech

WKR
Starting a fire sans matches is a skill everyone should possess IMO. Yes, ive used flint and steel too with charred cloth. Ive also used a fire bow drill and spindle board to start fires.
I keep a knife, ferro rod, matches, lighter with me at all times. I tell my wife when she backpacks to have at least 2 ways to start a fire with her every time she goes.
Nice bush knife you’ve got there by the way!

OP
C
Starting a fire sans matches is a skill everyone should possess IMO. Yes, ive used flint and steel too with charred cloth. Ive also used a fire bow drill and spindle board to start fires.
I keep a knife, ferro rod, matches, lighter with me at all times. I tell my wife when she backpacks to have at least 2 ways to start a fire with her every time she goes.
Nice bush knife you’ve got there by the way!