My First Elk Hunt: A Short Story

j_volt

WKR
2021 Wyoming Elk Hunt

Preamble

I wrote a short story to be able to help me remember my first elk hunt. I figured this would be a good place to share this story. Let it be known that I am a nerdy CPA, and I do not write much of anything, so forgive me for the shortcomings of this.

I have redacted some things, most noticeably the outfitter’s name at the outfitter’s request. I don’t understand it, but I feel I must respect his wishes.

Introduction

I dipped my toe into the western hunting dream in 2017. One of my best friends, @archp625 , convinced me to buy points in Wyoming for elk, deer, and antelope. To be completely honest, I wasn’t thrilled with the idea. Buying points? Why do I have to buy points? I had recently graduated from college and I was broke. Regardless of my hesitation, I bought all three (even though that mule deer point almost didn’t make it into my cart), but I honestly only wanted to hunt an elk someday. At this point, I looked at a Wyoming elk hunt as a bucket list item.

Fast forward to September of 2020 - I had hunted antelope in Wyoming twice at this point, with a Montana mule deer tag in my pocket which I planned to use in the upcoming November. Western hunting had transformed from a bucket list idea to a way of life. The draw strategies, the articles, the e-scouting… it all consumed me. I was fortunate enough to be in a much better financial situation than I was in back when I started buying points in 2017. I decided that I wanted to hunt elk in Wyoming in 2021. At first, I was convinced that I should do this DIY, but after reflecting on the fact that I wasn’t even sure where elk live, I elected to start researching outfitted elk hunts for the following fall. I talked to many outfitters, and I was extremely surprised to hear that many of these outfitters were booked years into the future.