My mountain rifle is getting walnut…

Decker9

WKR
That would make Jack O’Connor jealous.

Thought I’d share a stock Iv been working on the past few years. My mountain rifle is equipped with a carbon stock (AG privateer), but I’m a long time walnut lover so will be making the switch. Since that rifle is often in use, I only had limited time between seasons to work on its walnut. This time, I should be able to get it finished.

Currently it’s pretty much shaped, im just working on tightening up the flow lines and sanding out file marks and finishing the recoil pad (which I ground the toe off to far yesterday, so today reshaping the stock toe a tad). I’ll add, im still learning!! This started as my second build from a blank, but finished as my fourth. I’ll attach links to my first, and third. Lots of lessons were learnt on this build, that really helped with the 3rd.

The metal for this build is a defiance anTi XM, with a BDL bottom and a 22” benchmark barrel chambered in 6.5 PRC.

The walnut was ordered from a smith here in Canada (Turkish walnut I was told) Lesson 1, always ask for photos of all 4 sides. This one showed up with an awful crook. For anyone curious, that’s a $1500 (cad) slab.

IMG_1057.jpeg
IMG_1056.jpegIMG_1124.jpeg

I used our local cabinet maker to cut out my piece for me. Luckily the stock im after is small, we barely squeezed a piece big enough from this blank.

IMG_1205.jpegIMG_1207.jpeg

A little hand planing, shows what kind of figure is in there.
IMG_1201.jpeg
(Ignore my work boots)

If you’re interested in seeing a walnut stock unfold, feel free to check back in. I’ll keep adding as time allows. There’s a million ways to build a stock, I prefer hand tools, other than the cabinet maker and a drill press to drill my action holes, it’s all done by hand. There’s no “hand made” in a cnc or milled gunstock 🤪

OP
Decker9

Decker9

WKR
Another lesson learnt. DO NOT start cutting out the layout until the action holes are drilled.