Nallo 3 GT

Heading to Kotz next September (3-10) for a caribou drop hunt with one buddy and planning on picking up a new shelter for the trip, I keep finding myself considering the Hilleberg Nallo 3 GT at the top of my list, we are planning on sharing the shelter...we talked about going with 2 solo tents but pretty sure we both prefer to just take one and share, I've shared a two man tent with him several times and never had a problem (I'm also a small guy, 5'8"-135 lbs) This purchase would likely be used in the future for a Kodiak blacktail hunt and also other western style backpack hunts and camping here in the North Carolina mountains with my wife and little girl, but I have never used a hilleberg before and have a few questions

1: Is a footprint necessary with hilleberg tents? The nallo 3 gt is listed at 7 pounds and 1 ounce which is at the upper end of what I'd really consider for a backpacking tent with one other person, the footprint adds another pound and 6 ounces...the weight isn't really an issue on the Alaska trips but that's getting pretty heavy for a backpacking shelter...also how comfortable would you be taking just the outer tent and the footprint on a backpacking trip to save some weight?

2: For those of you that use the tunnel style hilleberg tents, how much trouble is it finding a suitable campsite? The nallo is 13' long with the extended vestibule and that concerns me some about trying to find an area big enough to pitch it

3: I've always used a freestanding tent, how hard is it to find a place to pitch it as far as driving the stakes in and them holding? Anybody struggle to find a place in rocky or sandy areas?

4: For anyone familiar with hunting out of Kotzebue, is this tent a good fit for the weather/terrain? Any major problems I'm overlooking or is there a much better option that I don't know about? I've toyed with the hot tent/tipi idea as well but just not sure how good of a fit that would be for me

Thanks in advance

sneaky

"DADDY"