Nevada Archery 171-173

Hey y'all, I'm new to hunting and Nevada. I have learned a lot from scouring these forums I drew an archery tag for antlered deer, unit 171-173. Looking at being out there mid-August. Excited just to get out there and see the Toiyabe mountain range. Unfortunately work is preventing me from doing any scouting ahead of time. Which is a bummer. I plan on camping near my truck, with some over night camping if it seems necessary. I plan on using On X Hunt in my phone for my GPS/maps. I was hoping for any advice on the area, and if my head is in the right places for what I plan on bringing?

My pack list is:
Erblestock Team Elk M5 pack, 3100cu in
PSE Evoke 35
First Lite corrugate pants, jacket, and base layers
Rain poncho
Sawyer squeeze filter and two 1 liter pouches
3L water bladder
20 degree Kelty mummy bag
Klymit static v pad
Big Agnes blacktail 2 person tent
12 x 50 Vortex diamondback
Vortex high country tripod
Bushnell Nitro 1 mile range finder
Jet boil, 230g propane
Various mountain house meals
2 x knives
Kill bags
550 cord
Med kit, Motrin, chap stick
Trekking poles
Black diamond headlamp
75qt pelican cooler with frozen gallon water

Thanks in advance for any help

Sent from my SM-G892U using Tapatalk

So, I drew the same tag. I am gonna be straight up and tell you I most likely will be returning the tag. I have an archery pronghorn that takes priority over this one and can’t hunt both. One less guy you have to worry about over there.
My research has shown that the tag actually was not completely allocated during the initial draw and there were 8 leftover tags. Probably because of success ratios. They are not encouraging.
Resident: 13%
NR: 6%

All I have talked with about the unit said to backpack in above treeline and hunt from a base camp for a week or more. It’s big country and it will be hot. Takes a while to learn. Water will be your limiting factor.