New guy from Utah

Hello, I’m a new member from the Ogden area of Utah. I was at a gun range today and one of the gentlemen at the range recommended this forum to me. I’m 19 years old and have always been an avid gun enthusiast, and I’ve always wanted to go hunting, but don’t have anyone in my life who I can go with to show me the ropes. This gentleman I met mentioned that there are people on this forum willing to teach and take newer guys with them, and I was wondering where I would go on this forum to find that. I apologize if this is the wrong category for this post, still learning how to navigate the forum

OP
C
Did you put in to draw any big game tags?

Sent from my SM-G996U using Tapatalk
I did not. I’m still working on getting gear at the moment. I’m a complete novice when it comes to hunting, and don’t know the first thing about it other than I need to get a hunters safety permit to do anything. I know a fair amount about firearms, but I know very little about hunting

realunlucky

Super Moderator
Staff member
You can buy a spike elk tag in June but you'll need your hunter safety card. I'd focus on getting the class finished up as soon as possible.

realunlucky

Super Moderator
Staff member
There is a lot of places to hunt spike elk in Utah.

What do you have for a vehicle?
Any camping gear at all?

eddielasvegas

WKR & Chairman of the Rokslide Welcoming Committee
Classified Approved
As the self-appointed chairman of the welcoming committee, it is my privilege to extend a laurel, and hearty handshake (virtual, of course) to our new member.

Eddie

OP
C
There is a lot of places to hunt spike elk in Utah.

What do you have for a vehicle?
Any camping gear at all?

I have a Ram 1500, not 4WD unfortunately but I got a really good deal on it. I have some basic camping gear. I have a good backpacking tent, sleeping bag, backpack, and most of the camping basics. No hunting gear though

Sled

WKR