New Hunter in Idaho

MrWolf

FNG
I am the first hunter I know of in my family, we all fish but that's it. I have always loved outdoors and hunting has always been something I've wanted to do and at 27 I'm starting to finally hit it hard and learn my way through it. That being said, I have no generations of knowledge to pull from nor did I grow up doing it so I'm cultivating what I can from online and putting it to the field as best I can. I spent two weekends ago scouting and not only did everything i planned not pan out once i got to the field but the areas I thought would be great turned out to not be something i could even climb. I am going hunting this weekend in 43 where I scouted as I did see some trails but am concerned that the areas I saw will be pressured out as they are close to the road. My family spent the weekend in GrandJean and man did I see some good country on the way in so I'm looking at that too possibly.

I am looking for tips on where to look or really just any info I can get about hunting here. I am backpacking in wherever I go and will be doing archery and rifle. I have read some books and listened to hours of podcast but would like to be able to bounce any questions I get off of people.

If you want to PM me so you don't give your secrets away to the internet the great with me. I'm hunting solo so no one else will know hahaha

87TT

WKR
Howdy. Best advice I can give is, is slow down and be patient. As you move, stop and look behind you. Don't get discouraged. It may take a few seasons and close calls before you connect. Learn from every encounter. Watch the game as much as you can to learn how they move. Don't expect to see a whole animal. Might only see an ear or tail flick.