Outdoorsy Career Path for Civil/Structural Engineer

treillw

WKR
I have a degree in Civil Engineering with a specialization in structures. I have been designing bridges for the past 11 years. I've been lucky to work on some pretty cool projects - truss bridges, historic structure rehabilitations, an 1800 foot long new bridge, etc. I think I've got a pretty good resume in the bridge world and a pretty good gig with the company that I'm at now. I just can't help but feel like I'm not built to sit in an office and stare at a computer screen for my whole life, nitpicking the gnats ass. I'm considering going in another direction.

Part of me wishes that I would have gone for mechanical engineering and got a job with a firearm or bow manufacturer; something I'm passionate about that doesn't feel like work. I'd say I have an above average affinity for bridges, but how excited can somebody really get about them?

I don't really want to go back to school. Getting an entry level position of that nature would likely be a pretty good pay cut. I don't have any other wonderful ideas that excite me too much. Maybe more inspection/field work? That might be my best bet. Do you guys have any other good ideas, or should I just keep riding the desk until I die? On one hand I know that work isn't supposed to be a basket of kittens and rainbows, but doing something you're passionate about would be nice. We do spend a very large portion of our lives working after all.

I appreciate any advice.

Thanks!

lak2004

WKR
What about a job with NRCS-natural resource conservation service? Would still be on the computer, but would have the opportunity for field visits. Government benefits, but the pay may be less.

Sent from my SM-G970U using Tapatalk

nodakian

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
Land surveying is often an easy crossover for CEs. It takes some technical knowledge, some understanding of legal matters, CAD skills, and good professional judgement.