Really Right Stuff

Sadler

WKR
Do these tripods live up to the hype? I currently have an outdoorsman compact medium, great tripod and it served me well but I’m wanting something for my hunts that’s taller that I can stand up and glass/shoot off of without a center post. I’m 5’8” for reference.

How are the ball heads? Can they handle a BTX95? Are they good for glassing? I’ve never used a ball head before. My outdoorsmans panhead seems to struggle a little with the BTX85 so I’m sure I’ll need something beefier for that 95 whenever I get one.

I’ve also read that guys are removing a couple leg sections to lighten these tripods up for backpack hunts. Is that as easy as it sounds or is there more to it than that? Also, how much weight are you saving by doing that?

If you guys could share your setups and recommendations I’d appreciate it. Right now I’m looking at the ultralight TFC -24L and the BH-30 or 40 ball head

Schism

WKR
I don't have an Outdoorsman tripod to compare to but I can say I've never seen or used a tripod as stable as my RRS tripod. I have the TFC-34L tripod and for my uses it works well. I pair my RRS tripod with a Gitzo fluid head and that combination works very well with my atx 95. I would imagine it would work well with the btx too. Standing and glassing with the spotter or binoculars is very easy.

I haven't looked into removing leg sections to save weight so I can't help you with that. I doubt I would ever use my current tripod for a backpack style hunt but the newer, lighter offerings from RRS have piqued my interest for backpacking.

I use my tripod paired with the RRS Anvil head to shoot from. It's a very stable shooting platform but not the best for optics. I don't have any experience with any of their ball heads.