Removing tripod legs?

Elite

WKR
I am wondering if any one removes the bottom sections of the tripods to reduce weight? I have a promaster xc525c and want to use it for sheep hunting but will never stand up and use it on the mountain so I am wondering if I could remove some bottom legs?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

zimagold

FNG
I did that to my Manfrotto tripod for hunting. Had to break the lowest locking mechanism and then sourced slightly larger rubber caps for ends of legs. Never looked back as I have another full size still available.

Last edited:

Tod osier

WKR
I did that to my Manfrotto tripod for hunting. Had to break the lowest locking mechanism and then sourced so slightly larger rubber caps for ends of legs. Never looked back as I have another full size still available.

Yes, done the same thing with the bottom section and rubber caps on my manfrotto carbon, but I didn't have to break anything, they just slid off once loosened. Easy to add back on too on mine.

Last edited:

WoodBow

WKR
Could always just fully extend them and saw them off right at the bottom of the leg you are keeping.

Here’s a thread on the topic. Scroll down to my posts, I have the XC 522 and unscrewed the legs.

tdhanses

WKR
Not all tripods will do that. Mine will not.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Then how did they install the collapsible legs? They can be removed, maybe in a different manner but if they adjust and are set into place by tension they can be removed. Might be a retainer clip or something but they had to install them somehow.

WoodBow

WKR
Then how did they install the collapsible legs? They can be removed, maybe in a different manner but if they adjust and are set into place by tension they can be removed. Might be a retainer clip or something but they had to install them somehow.