Right misses

kfili

Lil-Rokslider
OK Im still very new to trad. I'm shooting a 45lb @28 ( I thjnk pulling right around 28) rh OMP smoky mountain hunter 500 beman centershot with regular inserts and 100 grain tips. I've been pretty militant in shooting with proper form and making sure im making good shots. I Shot compound previously so I know the importance of starting off right and avoiding bad habits.
Anyway- I obviously still have a lot of errant shots but my most consistent misses are to the right. I'm having a hard time diagnosing what I'm doing wrong I THINK I narrowed it down to my head being tilted in towards the string (which I would have guessed would have made me miss left) or I'm pushing too hard into my anchor. Any experience with this?

Front shoulder collapsing/peeking is definitely the biggest culprit for right misses with a trad bow. if you collapse on the back side you're likely to get some left misses.

OP
K

kfili

Lil-Rokslider
Front shoulder collapsing/peeking is definitely the biggest culprit for right misses with a trad bow. if you collapse on the back side you're likely to get some left misses.
Can you describe what happens when the front shoulder collapses? Does it mean I'm not getting/keeping it down?
Thanks

Can you describe what happens when the front shoulder collapses? Does it mean I'm not getting/keeping it down?
Thanks
There are multiple ways it can collapse, one would be that the shoulder blade rolls up (not getting it down), another is when you move your bow out of the way to see the arrow flight. Aka peeking.

I agree it’s usually the bow arm. I’d suggest “sinking “ your bow shoulder low into the socket, to where you feel it really engage your lats. That arm should be a solid beam, framed into your body. If you feel your traps engaging, your bow arm is too high and will be unstable.

The second part of that is not dropping your bow arm after the shot. I’m so guilty of this one.

OP
K

kfili

Lil-Rokslider