School me on Alaska caribou/moose

Looking at planning a caribou/moose trip for me and my wife in the near future but I have zero experience with Alaska much less Alaska hunting. If we were to hunt moose, I’d probably want to hunt the brooks range unless someone knows of a better area with bigger moose. For caribou I really want to hunt the 40 mile range. I’ve heard there are good moose there as well.

Either hunt will be a drop hunt and flown in to a location and dropped off. Ideally, I’d like to not see another hunter for a week Bc honestly, the solitude for me is just as rewarding as killing. I would assume that the gear I have and use solo back country hunting in Colorado would suffice for Alaska but I could add a piece of gear here and there if needed. That’s a discussion for later.

I have no idea how getting a tag in Colorado works or the pricing. I know that getting an air taxi is anywhere from 2500-4500, depending on who you go with. So anyone with any kind of experience please chime in be it suggestions on location to hunt for species, air taxis, gear I suppose, tags, and anything I may not be thinking of.

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

weaver

WKR
Book with a reputable transporter like papa bear for moose or forty mile air for caribou.
That's much easier said then done.

Sent from my XT1635-01 using Tapatalk

Trial153

WKR
There is tons of info on here about DYI moose and Bou. I shifted over to the 40mile area for my next caribou hunt, 2020. Getting a good transporter is your most difficult logistical obstacle.
Everything you need to know is already in rokside

Last edited:
The Rokslide search box is your friend for sure. There is way more information and data waiting there. Just enter various keywords and you'll be amazed at how much stuff you find....including answers to all your questions.

VernAK

WKR
The demand for fly-in hunts far exceeds the supply and therein lies your greatest obstacle.