School me on lead-free bullets

I am probably suffering a little bit of paranoia from getting older, but I am kicking around switching to lead-free bullets. I'm primarily a bow hunter but still like to rifle hunt for mule deer and antelope. Most of my shots are less than 500 yards and so I am thinking of switching over to lead-free bullets. What are the best ones for reaching out to 500 yards? I have looked into Barnes TTSX, Nosler e-Tips, Hornady GMX and Hammer bullets. But like trying to compare anything on the internet, there really isn't a front runner that I can find. I'd like to hear some first hand experience from guys who have used these bullets. Thanks.

SteveCNJ

WKR
Classified Approved
I'm no expert but the most common answers I've seen to the best bullet question is what shoots best in your particular gun. I think you have already identified the usual suspects. Decide on a weight and try them.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

pods8 (Rugged Stitching)

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
Lots of prior replies on this but I've used barnes while hunting since 2014 (mainly the 145gr lrx in 7mm, some 168ttsx 30cal). I've never lost a critter, I shoot for the heart (through the shoulder if needed) and keep impact velocity over 2100-2200fps. I do not shoot rear lungs. The combo has worked on close to 2 dozen animals antelope thru bull elk.

I am trying the 181 hammers in a 300wsm currently but haven't killed a critter with them yet, they shoot nicely though.

500yd part: whatever one you can keep the velocity up at impact in your caliber, if needed its better to drop bullet weight in monos (assuming the BC drop doesn't scrub off the increased initial velocity). DO NOT hit a critter with them moving slowly, thats where you don't get good expansion.

Austink47

WKR