Scope Upgrades

I am an old fart with declining vision and need to upgrade glass and capability from current low end good names scopes with duplex reticles to something better

After looking through many different brands of scopes I’ve decided to purchase a Swarovski Z5 for my 30-06 Tika. Then move the VX3 off the 30-06 to my 70-8 Tika for a decent NC deer rifle with shots no longer than 300yds.

The question is do I get Z5 BT, P and/or I versions? I want the 30-06 to be my backup versatility gun and shoot NC deer/pigs/bear 100-300yards then out to 450ish yards for elk and other big game when I go out west. My 300 RUM Christensen Traverse will be my go to for long range big game which I am upgrading to a high-end FFP scope like NF or Leupold 5HD.

I am a newbie moving from standard duplex scopes, I am still confused and never clicked before and don’t know if clicking takes too much time on quick shots? From what I can tell the Z5 BT version you can click and the P is suited for the BRX reticle? Looking at the 5-25x52, I can get illuminated with either the BT or P. I would prefer the 3.5-18 of the Z3 but can only get in a 44, prefer the 52.

If you are limited to Swaro Z5 what would you get? Thanks for any help

madcalfe

WKR
your over thinking twisting the turrets.
once you have your velocities of the bullet your shooting
input the data into a ballistic calculator online.
print out the cheat sheet for example it will have increments of whatever you choose 50 yard, 100 yard

tape cheat sheet to stock.
range say a animal at 500 yard look at the sheet and it says 500 yard dial to 12 moa
twist the turret to 12 moa and bobs your uncle.

there's obviously wind and everything else to take into consideration but ultimately practice at longer ranges dialing and verify your dope chart prior to hunting

OP
Sweetroels