Seeking advice!

Good morning! I am in my 40's, and I am a teacher. I have not had a chance to elk hunt because I can't take off a week to head out west. However, I have 6 years until retirement!!!! I have a few questions for you all. I don't smoke or drink. I mountain bike except during deer and duck season. I hike a lot with my pack. I lift weights (low weight high reps). I watch my diet.

What else would you all suggest so that I can comfortably hunt later in life?

I want to use my 5 remaining summers to backpack and scout. Should I scout 1 area 5 times or scout 5 different areas of interest?

Because I'll be a novice elk or mule deer hunter at 51, what other advice do you all have?

Thank you!!!

GuyinIdaho

Lil-Rokslider
I would lean towards scouting 5 different areas but there are a lot of factors. Scouting 5 different areas wiil get you more familiar with the area/roads/country. Are you for sure going to get a tag in this area or areas? My advice would be to do as much online scouting that you can but be prepared to be mobile once you get a tag and dont get stuck in one spot.

OP
Ouachita Walker
"Are you for sure going to get a tag in this area or areas? "

Not sure. That is the tricky part. I notice tags are changing so much now (because east side folks like me..I get it). Things will be very different in 2029.

Thank you for the suggestions 👍

tuffcity

WKR
After "X" number of years teaching.... how's your patience holding up? :D

I say that 'cause long sits behind the glass can be your biggest asset, especially if you're targeting alpine deer. Online scouting is fine but if you're close enough nothing compares to boots on the ground. Satellite images aren't going to reveal a lot of the tiny things that can make a difference- a small seep, a little hollow against a bluff that's a mineral lick. Sometimes the devil is in the details.

OP
Ouachita Walker
"After "X" number of years teaching.... how's your patience holding up? :D"