Seeking WY outfitter recommendations for first elk hunt

Hey guys. Long time listener, first time caller. I will preface my question by saying that I have done a ton of research on this, including on this forum. However, it seems that most of the conversation is based around bulls, and understandably so. As a first time elk hunter, I was hoping to get some advice on finding a cow elk hunt that fits my criteria. I'm also assuming that many outfitters would likely give prime slots to higher paying bull hunts, but I could be wrong about that.

In 2022, I will be hitting the ripe old age of 50, and as I'm new to hunting, would like to treat myself to a cow elk hunt. By 2022, I will have had some deer hunting experience under my belt, as well as a lot of long range shooting instruction and practice. I should be a decent shot, but will still be somewhat of a novice hunter. By 2022, I will probably have a couple of WY preference points which I will have purchased, but would prefer not to use. Over time, I'm looking to buy preference points each year in WY, gain some experience, and eventually do some more difficult DIY hunts.

As for now, I'm looking for outfitter recommendations that might fit well with the following criteria:
  1. Wyoming (because it seems like less pressure and I would like to learn more about this hunting territory)
  2. 3-4 days
  3. Early season in 2022
  4. Cow elk
  5. $3-4k budget
  6. Guided 1 on 1
  7. Private land
  8. Prefer lodge/cabin (but would do wall tent as well)
  9. High chance of draw (no preference points)
  10. Moderately challenging hunt - A huge part of this is acquiring practical hunting skills. I'm looking to pick up some knowledge, rather than a super easy cull hunt while leaned up against a pickup truck.
I'm looking forward to participating in this forum, and I greatly appreciate any input you guys might have. Cheers!

Last edited: