South Dakota NR Mule Deer / Whitetail Hunt

Hello,

I am new to Rockslide.

Buddy and I (From MN) both have 6 preference points for SD WRD and BHD. We will be planning a rifle hunt for Mule Deer or White Tail. Few questions...

1. When we choose to put in for a tag, if we go WRD do we blow points for BHD as well (and vice versa) or are they totally separate meaning we should be able to get two different hunts out of these points?
  2. I am looking for a starting point on deciding where to hunt/what unit to try to get a tag for/how many points that will take/etc etc. Again - we are in the beginning stages of making decisions hence such drastic questions. We are relatively indifferent between shooting a white tail or mule deer. We hunt MT almost every year and have no issue putting 10+ miles on a day if needed to get away from the crowds and back where deer have little to no pressure. With our schedules we have the ability to hunt SD next year (2024) but if we need a few more PPs to get into a coveted area then we will wait a few years. Does anyone have some hints or ideas here for areas of the state to focus on for E-scouting and any suggestions on units to target for getting a tag? We will generally be hunting public.
Thank you all and look forward to learning.

You can apply for Bh or WR but not both even though you get points for both units. If you draw one you can still draw the other on a different year. Last I remember sd isn’t a pref point state but bonus. So you “could” draw anything in the state but some areas are harder than others. You’d probably draw a bh whitetail tag with ease given the amount of pts you have.

KurtR

WKR
wr and bh are different draws so you dont blow your points. I will give you something to think about the coveted areas if you know they are coveted so does every one else. There are mule deer to be had alot of places and the last place im blowing my points is the coveted areas with every body else.

Lytro

WKR