Spotting Scope Questions from a Newbie

dcremin

FNG
Howdy - I'm a newbie looking for some spotting scope advice. I'm in my upper 30's, just about to have my 2nd kid in 2 years and lucky to be able to even be entertaining going on a hunt this year. Scheduled to go on a late rifle hunt in CO this year since I drew a cow tag. Baby #2 is due end of Dec/early Jan and measuring 2.5 weeks ahead, so that could torpedo my hunting plans last minute. Anyway, I mention that only to say my budget is not great for high end optics. On a whim on Amazon's second prime day this year I ordered a Gosky Updated 20-60x80mm spotting scope for $135 total after tax. I know this is an entry level scope and and a plus was it comes with a phone adapter. BUT it arrived and is way longer than I was expecting. Damn thing barely fits in my daypack backpack. I know that comes with the territory of larger optics.

So, I am looking for something maybe a little more compact. The type of hunting we do is mostly woods with a view, although the Cameron Peak fire definitely opened some shooting lanes up in the area we hunt back in 2020. I can return the Gosky one to Amazon and re-order something else, but I'd say my budget is not great at under $200 before tripod. I'm not opposed to buying a used but better quality one for that price, but still am looking a little more compact. Typical views for us might be 1/4 to 1/2 a mile or so, so this would be used more to better identify elk we can already see with our rifle scope or binos. So not really the traditional getting on a high point and classing for 4 miles and hours at a time to spot them. I know the tabletop tripod that comes with the Gosky one I updated is junk, so that's part of why my budget is not great as I'm going to spend additional $ on a better tripod anyway.