Spreadsheet for Preference Points?

Glendon Mullins

Hillbilly Moderator
Staff member
Does anyone keep an excel spreadsheet or even a word document or the like, for keeping track of their preference points and due dates etc. to purchase them etc.? If so care to share?

Here's mine. I don't keep dates because I'm on top of it typically, but I do keep track of whether I've applied or not.

jadIDp5.png

Now I'm curious what the cost of all those points looks like?

It's not as much as many would think. I happen to have a lifetime hunting license in Arizona so I don't have to pay for the nonresident combo every year, just the app fees. I'm a resident in Colorado now so only resident fees here. Last year totaled right around $300. This year Colorado will cost me the $50 extra for goat, sheep and moose. I told my wife that I wouldn't apply for the big three to save us money but she told me I should. I have literally no other hobbies so that helps.

If it makes anyone feel any better I'll likely use those points for almost every species. The goat, sheep and moose tags are unlikely, as are Utah and Arizona pronghorn. The rest will get used eventually. I have a lifetime goal to kill a 6-point bull in 6 states. If I'm applying for elk in those states it makes financial sense to apply for other species usually.

Scottyboy

WKR
No spreadsheet for me, but only applying for resident “special” deer tags, Iowa and WY..not much to keep track of.

I've been keeping one for about 5 years or so. Way too much sensitive info on mine to share publicly. And its evolved and got bigger every year as I'm applying in 9 states(give or take a couple) every year. With around 30 different species applications.
Right now there are 6 different tabs. Points, draw timelines and historical cost being the first three. After that its state/unit breakdowns and some other personal research.

And all this info fills up a sheet pretty quick:
State website login info
App open/due dates