Switching from the Xtherm

cmahoney

WKR
I have been using my Xtherm for my back pack hunts for the last three years. I am a side sleeper and can’t do it anymore.

Anyone out there have the same issue and what have you gone to? I am seriously considering a thermarest cot because the sleep would be worth the extra weight.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I’ve done a little reading on this, being a side sleeper as well. I’m curious what you’ve experienced that makes the Xtherm not for you. Seems like a lot of guys go to one of the Klymit V models but I haven’t figured out why.

Hmmm. Haven’t gone cot but I am intrigued. A bit concerned that in addition to the cot, you still need some kind of pad, although I assume you could get away with a light, thin one. Seems like 3lbs for the large thermarest version plus a 1 pound pad is a lot of weight, not to mention that those things are $$$.

I am a side sleeper also and heavy (#250). I converted to an inflatable pad a couple of years ago and I have a neoair and an extherm. I also have a klymit static v. I like the therma rests the most.

I find the inflatables much better than my old school self inflators, especially for side sleeping. I tended to bottom out at the shoulder and hip with the old self inflators pads so I picked up the habit of running them with a closed cell foam pad underneath. Prior to switching to a inflator, my set up was a 3/4 thermarest on a full length ridge rest or zlite pad.

I still like a closed cell pad for camp cushions and to protect from punctures so I recently added a very thin closed cell pad from seek outside to the mix that is cut to the width of the inflatable pads and weighs 4.5 oz.