The golden age of backpack hunting

TaperPin

WKR
Hi everyone - I’m new to rokslide and it’s overwhelmed with what a great resource this is! We are living in the golden age of backpack hunting - never has so much information been so available! Yep I’m officially the old guy telling young guys how hard we used to have it and how lucky you are! *chuckle*

Back in the late 1990s if you googled backpack hunting almost nothing came up. There was mostly heavy hunting clothing at Cabelas, military surplus hadn’t evolved yet and there was backpacking gear at REI, but a lot of stuff had to be made and there were few sources of information.

Companies have to convince us to buy the latest greatest in order to pay the bills and keep the lights on - I totally get that - however its fun to see most of the gear we made in the 1990s would be as functional as the best of what’s available now, and lighter than much of the “tactical” hot selling bags and gizmos. For you younger guys dreaming of hunting the Rocky Mountains on a budget you can still build and modify gear that’s as good as the best stuff out there. For those of us where price is no longer a concern, it’s still a necessary skill to know why equipment is good and customize top of the line stuff to be closer to perfect.

Anyway, I’m glad to be here and look forward to reading the archives to see what everyone’s been building and modifying! Hopefully my limited experiences making Kevlar stocks from scratch, getting sub moa mountain rifles to shoot, sewing most everything, industrial sewing machine set up and troubleshooting, building/modifying backpacks, organizing a menu that works, stealth living at timberline, and getting the shot off when it counts will help add to the body of knowledge.

hereinaz

WKR
Rokslide Sponsor
Welcome, fellow child of primitive civilization!

I share your sentiments. I backpacked as a kid and figured how to go light on the cheap.