Tikka or Browning

mike1950

FNG
Replacing My old Remington 7mm Mag wit either a Tikka or X-bolt. Any input would be appreciated. Looking for a little less recoil- Gear has improved a bunch since the 60's Thanks

peaches

Lil-Rokslider
Tikka is the easy answer. Caliber will depend on your intended use, but a 6.5 Creed would be great for targets and all but the larger game animals with low recoil.

pharmfisher

Lil-Rokslider
I'm somewhat confused why Tikka is so heavily recommended over x bolts. I own an x bolt, but have shot tikkas and will probably buy a Tikka next. But I cant see much of a difference between the 2. Both seem very accurate and cycle reliably. For $20 you can make the Browning trigger amazing. Is there something I'm missing? Honest question as I am by no means an expert.

nobody

WKR
Tikka wins in every long-term performance metric:

Better aftermarket support
Better trigger (from a reliability standpoint in inclement/crappy conditions)
Easy to re-barrel
Better scope mounting options

That said, I had an X Bolt Western Hunter in 6.5 creedmoor for about a year, and to this day it was the most accurate rifle I’ve EVER shot or owned. And I felt the factory stock on the x bolt was ergonomically a better fit to my body shape than the tikka that replaced it is.

That said, I don’t regret replacing the X bolt with a tikka, sheerly because I shoot enough that the “long term viability” of the tikka means a ton to me. If you’re more of a “hunting rifles are meant to be hunted with and not for practicing” camp, who buys 3 boxes of ammo when you buy the rifle and those 3 boxes last you 5-8 years, who will never shoot enough to shoot the barrel out on your rifle, then the X bolt is a great option.