Top 5 Gear/Equipment/Clothing New Hunter Must Invest In

Was interested in what you guys would recommend a new hunters buys FIRST (top 5 in order). I’ve already been on 2 hunts this season, 1 successful, so I know good boots and pack are essential. I’m a student and work part time so time and money is tight for me at the moment. Where to go from here?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

92xj

WKR
Boots
Pack
Binos
Outer wear
meat processing equipment and storage devices

assuming you already have the weapon and projectiles for that weapon.
I am also assuming you are doing day hunts.

If this is back pack hunting, I would eliminate my meat processing stuff and buy the best sleep system and shelter you can afford.

RADunfee

Lil-Rokslider
The above lists are dead on. I would add you must have some form of gps with offline maps such as OnX. Doesn't matter how good your gear list is if you are totally lost!

t_carlson

WKR
If you want to hunt in inclement weather, good clothing is very important. It is amazing how comfortable you can be when it is nasty outside. I'm pretty well addicted to hoods on my layers these days.

As mentioned, an OnX subscription is priceless.

If you're going to really wild places, a Garmin InReach is great to have.

Depends on long term or short term. You can get by on pretty much crap if you are tough enough and just want to hunt.
But if it was me
Glass and tri pod - game changing if you are going to do a lot of glassing. Buy once and be one with it - $3000 plus
Pack - I prefer to carry everything out in the least amount of trips possible - $400-800
Boots - $200-$300
Gun/Scope/Load - Lots of factory guns that can get it done $500-1000. Get a good rail and rings $200. Buy the best scope you can $400-$800

Do that and you will have the basics covered for a very long time

packer58

WKR
Depends on long term or short term. You can get by on pretty much crap if you are tough enough and just want to hunt.
But if it was me