Uinta North Slope deer & elk question

F16pointy

FNG
Looking for a little help, not spots. Moved to Utah from Alaska last year and this is my first year hunting the state. I have an archery buck and elk tag. I have spent some time up on the North Slope looking for places to hike in from the road. From what I have seen I can either jump on the trails used heavily by the bunny huggers. Or hunt closer to the road and bushwhack it. That being said, I have seen and heard people say "hunt the quakies". I guess my question to the experienced is what type of vegetation are holding elk early in the season? I have found spots with aspen and areas with mostly pine. I will be up there first week of Sep. I appreciate any help anyone is willing to provide. Just need a little help on deciding which of the places I found to start from. Thanks!

Sled

WKR
Lots of info online and on rokslide currently. In short, the elk will use timber north slopes for safety and shade during the heat of the day and aspens for water and the feed growing under it.

OP
F16pointy

F16pointy

FNG
Lots of info online and on rokslide currently. In short, the elk will use timber north slopes for safety and shade during the heat of the day and aspens for water and the feed growing under it.
Appreciate the response. I have spent many hours searching on this subject on here and the web. Maybe I'm not using the right search question? But there seems to be a lot more about how far to go out or what general area to go to. A lot of general season stuff. I have areas I plan to go to and have found areas where there is no visible aspen in the area and another where there is aspen all over the place. I know where I would start to look for moose, and I actually found moose sign while up there. But the areas I scouted had more moo cow sign than anything else. Thanks again!

Sled

WKR