Unit 80/81 draw unit now. Need insight.

___DAN___

Lil-Rokslider
I've been hunting unit 80/81 off and on since 2008 straight out of college. I've been enjoying this area since the 90s when I was a kid. Heck I even bought some property up there in 2020 to build a cabin one day. Like most I've been getting burned out on the heavy pressure of OTC. So last year I applied for the elk draw to buy a PP in hopes of using them one day on a less pressured unit for elk. In the meantime, waiting for that, I wanted to apply for the deer in my unit and hunt OTC elk if I didn’t get a deer tag. Now that my unit is draw, I need to figure out a plan to approach the draw each year for elk and deer.

My current situation is that I have 1 pp for deer and 1 pp for elk. Looking at the draw odds for deer, I will probably draw a deer tag. I don't have the budget now to hunt both, and do I have the vacation to spend a few weeks up there chasing both.

So not knowing how many PPs it will take to draw an elk in this unit now, should I use 80/81 for my second choose and buy a PP knowing I will get a deer tag?

If I draw both tags (both first choose) and I decided to choose one, do I eat a PP if I get one refunded? Or will I have to eat the tag to keep the PP? I'm not entirely familiar with the draw system.

Just looking for some recommendation to give me the best shot at being able to make a trip every year or every other year to hunt. How would you approach it? What are your thoughts. Thanks in advance.

LandYacht

WKR
I am sure the draw for these units will look like the draw for the other units that went draw to the west. That means plenty of tags left over for purchase after the draw was concluded. If you put A point first on your app you will still draw. You also will most likely have a chance to purchase a leftover tag if you choose not to apply for a tag.

You lose your points if you draw your tag with few exceptions if you turn back your license.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP