Water filter recommendations?

I am completely new to filtering water and am going on my first backcountry 5 day hunt in about a month. 2 of us going in and wondering what the best thing to get for this would be. Sawyer squeeze comes up a lot in my searches. Is that the thing to get or is their something better? Probably don’t need to filter too much with only two of us and would like something lightweight.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I am up in Alaska and I was talking to some sheep hunting “experts” at Barney’s Sports Chalet in Anchorage and they recommend gravity filters. They sell MSR but I am partial to platypus so I bought a 2 L platypus gravity filter system. The water up here is extremely silty and so you have to be very careful because the silt will plug the filter. I’m not sure about down there maybe the pumps would be fine but I decided to go with the 2 L bag filter

Both work great for different uses. If you have a single basecamp site and have time to let bags of water hang to filter while you go do other things, the platypus works great. It's heavier, though; but as mentioned above is good if you are forced to use silty water. Platypus is particularly good if you'll have several people with you using the same water system. If you'll always be on the move, and if it's just 2-3 of you, the squeeze is the better option. It's light, faster than the platypus, and works just fine, but requires active effort to use (not a lot of effort, and not a lot of time). I've used both and would go with the Sawyer Squeeze for backpack alpine hunting, or the platypus for river float hunts or hunts from a set basecamp or truck.

Mosby

WKR