What I learned this year about rifles...

OP
T
TWO YEAR UPDATE...

I'm still learning.

1. I am now a 4 rifle guy. (all .284s)
2. I am learning older Winchester triggers and Mauser 98 actions.
2. I have thought a lot about the 2 posts above (scopes holding zero). And I have been paying close attention b/t trips to the range. My experience this year has shown temp changes and torque settings on action screws seem to affect POI more than the scope moving from recoil. But I can't be sure; I am just not getting a lot of movement. Nor are my buddies having 'zeroing' issues with their less expensive scopes. Small sample, and it would only take one miscue to change my mind.
3. I took 2 deer w/ Partitions and 1 large hog (my own reloads) this year. Great, great performance. This year I will be trying Nosler Ballistic Tips.
4. I have a backhanded compliment to Tikka - mine shoots all powders, all bullets, at all seating depths either good or very good, and that makes it hard to find "the" load. After a few ladders and such I ask myself, "Self, what's the point?" My 700's tell me "the" load quite clearly after telling me "this is not" the load quite clearly.
5. Finally, I picked up a NOS Bushnell Elite (Japan Model, produced after the 4500's were put to rest in 2011 or so.) It truly does show better in all light situations and has held zero on a 7mmWSM so far. A new favorite, albeit 12 years old.

Again, thanks to many of you for posting through the years. I glean quiet a bit when on my frequent rabbit trails.

B

dv8pnt

FNG
I have shot a lot of deer with 143 grain eldx hornady precision hunters. Never noticed a blood trail because they all dropped where they stood. I have used them out of a weatherby vanguard, a browning x bolt hunter and recently out of a tikka. All 6.5 creedmoors and all shoot the factory ammo great.

Vern400

WKR