Where do I even start with gear?

scott85

Lil-Rokslider
So like I posted on the FNG post yesterday, I'm planning a OTC DIY elk hunt in Idaho next year or in 2018 so I'm working on getting my gear together and trying to figure out what tent, sleeping bag and pack to get started without breaking the bank. The choices out there are mind numbing and I would really appreciate the help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
scott85

scott85

Lil-Rokslider
I got the rifle, binos and a ton of First Lite clothing. I'm looking at 1,000 for everything gear if I can.

AdamW

WKR
Well as a fellow newbie, I focused on (and I think you'll find the consensus is) a good pair of boots and a good pack are the top couple recommendations. Last year or two years ago Kifaru, Exo, etc. model pack can be a bargain if you keep your eyes peeled.

The first hunt seems to be the audit of your gear. What you used, what you didn't, what worked and what didn't. After this season I will probably start tackling weight of my sleep system. I got a new pad from my wife this year as an anniversary gift and cut two pounds off my pack weight.

You've got a year to figure out the specific makes and models you like the sounds of and here is a great place to do it. Don't let not having $500 boots keep you from going until 2018. Get after it!

If you look for deals and stalk the classifieds you should for sure be able to get it done for $1k I think.

Manosteel

WKR
Get good boots and pack first. They have the biggest impact on the experience you will get out of the hunt, gear wise. AS others said, look out for deals. You can pick up an Kifaru Bikini frame for around 200ish if you keep and eye out, pick up a grabit it and guide lid, throw on a 80 liter dry bag and you are set. Boots I suggest looking for sales but go try out a bunch at local stores to see what your feet like.

Graves14

WKR
You're off to a good start. I'd go in this order and look for deals on used gear on all but the boots.