Brand new to hunting

Hey all,

I'm brand new to hunting, 29 years old from NY. I wanted to know if there were any good beginner resources out there if I don't have any friends that currently hunt. I've been putting in range time to get better at shooting, but am at zero as far as gear knowledge and hunting knowledge goes. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Finding a good mentor is going to be by far the best way to go about it. Maybe someone on here would be willing, or know somebody so could help you out. Reading/podcasts can be great, but its very difficult to sort through what is good information and what isn't. For western hunting, there's some good podcasts ect, but i don't know about the eastern stuff.

Sent from my Pixel 3 using Tapatalk

boom

WKR
welcome to the chasm that leads to the slippery slope that ends with the void....

i've been hunting, but i still feel like a rookie. i am not super successful (in general)

my tips.
dont get caught up in all the gear.
hunt in a target rich zone.
and enjoy the event on it's own. dont get bummed out not tagging out.

IdahoElk

WKR
Where in NY?
When I started hunting(10yrs old) in New Jersey most of my time was spent first wandering in the woods learning about animals, where they lived and exploring,took years to get my first animal on my own.Hunting is a process and can take a long time to figure out,enjoy the journey, find a good mentor but don't expect success over night.

the_bowhunter

Lil-Rokslider
PM me your email and I can send you a couple of articles that can help get your started

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OP
B
Where in NY?
When I started hunting(10yrs old) in New Jersey most of my time was spent first wandering in the woods learning about animals, where they lived and exploring,took years to get my first animal on my own.Hunting is a process and can take a long time to figure out,enjoy the journey, find a good mentor but don't expect success over night.