CO late season mike deer boots

cgill54

FNG
Need help finding a good pair of late season boots as my feet get cold somewhat easy while glassing. I have a pair of crispi nevadas that I have 200 ish miles in and I love them. Problem is they are not insulated and I want to be fully prepared for this hunt. I will be bringing the Nevadas along in case there is decent weather but want to have a good pair of insulated boots to throw on depending on the conditions and weather outlook for when we get there. Been looking around rokslide and different boot companies trying to find the answers to my questions but can’t seem to find them all. My biggest question is what insulation do you all recommend? I have no experience with insulated boots. The boots I have been looking at are kennetrek mountain extremes (400g), the Hanwag trapper top gtx (can’t find insulation value?) and a couple different crispis that range anywhere from 200g to 800g. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

Wapiti1

WKR
400g Hoffman Explorer or equivalent. Kennetrek is a good boot, but they don't fit me well.

If you expect snow, and cold, Hoffman Outback pacs with two pair of liners to swap out each day. Really a good pac for mountain hunting. They climb well.

I find pacs warmer even with the lower weight liner than a 400 gram leather boot. Leather boots cinch up tighter and compress the insulation making it less effective.

One tip for glassing it to loosen your laces when you get there and let more blood circulate in your feet.

Jeremy

Lowa Tibet superwarm gtx. 400gr primaloft. I love mine.

They also make a 200gr hunter or some such.

I do not like to wear insulated boots, but here in Colorado I wear uninsulated mountaineering boots. When the snow is over a foot deep I switch to plastic boots.

Crispi west river 2.0s (scheels exclusive) have served me well in cold temps. But i dont have the attention span to sit and glass for 8 hours. If I was worried I’d try the crispi wild rock pluses.